Welcome to Nabokov Cocktail!

Holly Golightly Reading

Hello and welcome!

The idea behind this blog is to make academia accessible to readers outside of academic circles in a fun and simple way, based on the collection of Nabokov’s literary lectures, titled – unsurprisingly – Lectures on Literature.

So what will happen?

Each chapter of Nabokov’s Lecture’s on Literature is dedicated to a novel or story from a different era, style or genre.  Every two weeks, I will create a blog post discussing the book and Nabokov’s lecture, and I’ll compare his ideas to other pieces of scholarship that the non-academic reader might not have access to (JSTOR, I’m looking at you and your subscription fees).  Don’t worry!  I know that may sound a touch dull, but honestly – this is going to be fun.

Want to join in and read along with me?

Get yourself a copy of Nabokov’s Lectures on Literature and his chosen texts (all easily available from libraries, bookshops (even charity shops) and They Who Shall Not Be Named (*cough*Amazon*cough*).  Read the novel, then read the lecture (or skip the lecture and just read my blog post – whatever makes you happy).  The first text is Mansfield Park by Jane Austen and my blog post will go live on the 7th of July, giving us about two weeks to read it.  Go go go!

Why am I doing this?

The first time I read Jane Eyre was a wonderful, frustrating experience for me.  I finished the book with so many questions and not a single person to talk to about them – none of my loved ones had read it, so I felt this strange literary loneliness.  I hadn’t been to uni at that point, so I had no idea what a wealth of scholarship existed on sites like JSTOR (who charge anyway, making academia a bit, dare I say, elitist?) and so I was left chewing on my curiosity.  I am now a university student (just finished my second year) and I want to try to make discussions of books more accessible to readers who are outside the university bubble and thus left out of the conversation.  I really hope you’ll join in, and tell me what you think of the books, the lectures, my blog posts… all of it.  I’m hoping this will be an interactive experience, so please don’t be shy – read!  Comment!  Liberate the books!

Also, please be patient with me as I learn how to blog.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

